MLS SUPERDRAFT NETS RED BULLS THREE


Only time will tell how the first SuperDraft of the Jeff Agoos/Juan Carlos Osorio era will play out, but the club feels stongly about the three selections it made on the day.

Held in Baltimore, MD, Red Bull New York selected defender Eric Brunner of The Ohio State University with its second-round pick (16th overall), midfielder/defender Luke Sassano of the University of California – Berkeley with its third-round pick (34th) and midfielder David Roth of Northwestern University with its fourth-round pick (44th).

“Positionally, we fulfilled our needs today,” said Red Bull New York Sporting Director Jeff Agoos. “We were able to select the players who we were looking for without having to move up in the selection order. Hopefully, these players can contribute to our 2008 campaign.”

“I think we should be pleased with what we have,” said Red Bulls head coach Juan Carlos Osorio. “It was difficult because there were not too many players in our eyes who could come and compete for a starting position. I think they have good qualities, and hopefully, if they can hold their ground with the professionals, then I think in the long run, we can develop them and they can become an important part of the team.”

Here is a overview of the selections:

Brunner, a 6-4, 170-pound defender from Dublin, OH, earned a number of accolades during his college career. The 2008 adidas/MLS Combine MVP in January, Brunner was a NSCAA All-American and All-Region First Team selection in 2007 after scoring six goals and starting in all 26 games he played. Along with being the Buckeyes’ captain in his senior year, Brunner was named on the First Team All-Big 10 squad and made the College Cup All-Tournament team. He spent his first year in college at Maryland.

Over his four-year career, Brunner played in 89 games, starting in 79 and scoring 10 goals and four assists. A graduate of Scioto High School in Ohio, Brunner also played for club team, Thunder FC, and under John Bluem at OSU.

“It’s a great feeling to be selected by New York,” Brunner said. “The Red Bulls are a great organization and they have shown a lot of commitment to MLS. I’m excited to come in and hopefully, improve the team.”

Sassano, the team captain for UC-Berkeley in 2007, was named All Pac-10 Honorable Mention in 2005 and Pac-10 All-Academic Honorable Mention in 2007. Featuring in a total of 64 games (56 starts), the Huber Heights, OH native tallied a total of four goals and 19 assists during his four-year career for the Golden Bears, who were coached by Kevin Grimes.

The 6-0, 170-pound graduate of Miramonte High School (CA) has also played on club teams, Lamorinda United and the Santa Clara Sporting Ruckus.

Hailing from St. Louis, MO, Roth was a NSCAA All-American Second Team selection (2007) and a two-time NSCAA All-Great Lakes Region First Team pick (2006-07). The 5-8, 138 pound midfielder and two-time All-Big Ten First Team member (2006-07) has scored 19 goals and 32 assists in 83 games played over his four years at Northwestern. Roth played for Tim Lenahan at Northwestern and went to Chaminade College Prep.

“The Red Bulls were my number one choice and I couldn’t be any happier to be selected by them,” Roth said. “It is a really great opportunity for me to play with some of the best players in MLS and I can’t wait to get started.”

Tags: , , , , ,

18 Responses to “MLS SUPERDRAFT NETS RED BULLS THREE”

  1. Gideon Nwaoha Says:

    That’s my contacts and c.v below:
    NAME:GIDEON NWAOHA
    AGE:15 YEARS
    DATE OF BIRTH:15TH JUNE,1994
    SEX:MALE
    COUNTRY:NIGERIA
    CITY:KANO
    PHONE NUMBER:+234 7033996232 OR +234 7042016514
    E MAIL:gideonnwaoha@yahoo.com
    LAST TEAM:chrystal football academy
    CURRENT CLUB:Midas Football academy
    POSITION: DEFENSIVE/ATTACKING MID-FIELD
    HEIGHT:6FT
    WEIGHT:58KG
    NUMBERS OF MATHCES PLAYED: 58 MATHCES
    NUMBERS OF GOALS SCORED WITH ASSIST 23 GOALS, 14 ASSISTS
    FOOTBALL FACTORS OF TRAINING
    PHYSICAL FITNESS
    Very strong with the ball. Good speed strength endurance, Good reaction and sprinting speed, Good mobility, Agility and decoy movements. Good intensity and volume of training, good recovery 76%

    TECHNICAL SKILLS
    Very good in the air, dribbling runs and ball distribution. Good advance techniques such as full and half volleys, in swinger and out swinger pull out, inside and outside of the foot passes 75%
    TACTICAL BEHAVIOUR
    Good reader of the game, and angle of support play, Good visual control of the ball and the game. Good movement on and off the ball. Good marker and counter attack player. Good individual group and general tactics. Good final passes and finishing 70%
    MENTAL ALERTNESS
    Good anticipation interception adaptation and improvisation 65%
    PERSONALITY
    Very humble, hardworking, cultured and team player 80%
    COACHS REMARKS.
    He is a young attacking midfielder / Defender with very good prospects. Some of the high points of his game are his high work rate, advance techniques, good offensive tactics, final ball and cool finishing.
    i’ll be very glad if you give me the chance to showcase my above talent.Thank you.Hope to hear from you soon.

  2. maruf okere Says:

    Dear sir

    my name is Maruf Okere am 17yrs of age from Ghana a footballer,Position midfielder/ striker
    Height (1.79 cm) Weight:( 43kg) in all my life my wish is to be in one of the football team in europ
    but how to be there is the problem .so that is why i decide to write if you could help me , if you can get me some help ,and play football to pursue all available means of financial aid i believe my
    standing should qualify me for the academy assistance .Any
    consideration you can give me as a future will be greatly appreciated please send me information on your program and any suggestions you may have on me .
    on how to be best prepare for attendance at your academy i will be
    gratefuller to you, and if you could get me some help thank you
    EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND :high school COMPLETED
    FOOTBALL HISTORY
    IVE BEEN PLAYING FOOTBALL FROM 6 YRS AND also the best player in my school team GOALS SCORE
    AVERAGE OF ONE GOAL PER MATCH
    POSITION——midfielder/ striker
    NATURAL FOOT —–BOTH LEGS, BUT FAVORITE FOOT IS RIGHT
    ABILITY IN TERMS OF PLAY.
    1) VERY GOOD IN DRIBBLING
    2) VERY FAST AND VERY GOOD IN PASSING
    3) VERY GOOD SHOOTER AND ALSO GOOD IN BALL CONTROL

  3. abdallah mohammed Says:

    Qualities of a good midfielder? A good midfielder should be able to hold the ball. It might interest you to know that winning a match most times depends on ball possession. That is, the ability of a team to hold on to the ball more than the opponent. It is a special characteristic of a good midfielder. He or she holds on to the ball in order to prevent the opponent from getting the ball and creating chances that may result in goals because a team can only score a goal if they possess the ball.

    A good midfielder should be able to give accurate passes. Chances to score goals are created by giving sublime and accurate passes. There is no way a team can win a match if they pass the ball to the opponent. And it is the function of the midfielders to supply the accurate passes to his or her teammates.

    A good midfielder should be able to see very well. This is an exceptional quality of the world’s best midfielders such as Frank Lampard of Chelsea Football Club of England. This kind of midfielders scores goals from unbelievable distance. They win matches for their team by turning things around in a split second.i have all these qualities so i hope by the grace of god i will be admitted

  4. abdallah mohammed Says:

    i haveall the qualities of a good midfielder

  5. prince herbert .s. mensah Says:

    i am a guy of 19 year of age and i was introduced by colsh Robinson for an interview in the academy but mistaking i was ill for almost a month now so please to the technical and the above management,thanks.
    i am a very awesome player with a passion of consoled of nature thanks for reading my mail i am looking forward to hear from you.
    please i am willing to join your academy. price lives in Ghana, he says at Elmina with a house number 48/20 c.p area. tel:0542788511
    GOD BLESS THE TEAM WITH VICTORY. AMEN

  6. muntari Says:

    Dear sir

    my name ismuntari yussif am 17yrs of age from Ghana a footballer,Position midfielder/ striker
    Height (1.79 cm) Weight:( 43kg) in all my life my wish is to be in one of the football team in europ
    but how to be there is the problem .so that is why i decide to write if you could help me , if you can get me some help ,and play football to pursue all available means of financial aid i believe my
    standing should qualify me for the academy assistance .Any
    consideration you can give me as a future will be greatly appreciated please send me information on your program and any suggestions you may have on me .
    on how to be best prepare for attendance at your academy i will be
    gratefuller to you, and if you could get me some help thank you
    EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND :high school COMPLETED
    FOOTBALL HISTORY
    IVE BEEN PLAYING FOOTBALL FROM 6 YRS AND also the best player in my school team GOALS SCORE
    AVERAGE OF ONE GOAL PER MATCH
    POSITION——midfielder/ striker
    NATURAL FOOT —–BOTH LEGS, BUT FAVORITE FOOT IS RIGHT
    ABILITY IN TERMS OF PLAY.
    1) VERY GOOD IN DRIBBLING
    2) VERY FAST AND VERY GOOD IN PASSING
    3) VERY GOOD SHOOTER AND ALSO GOOD IN BALL CONTRO

  7. muntari Says:

    dear sir
    i will be overwiemed if iwill your respond in no time

  8. FAMOUS ATTIPOE Says:

    MY NAME IS FAMOUS ATTIPOE AND I AM 18 YEARS OF AGE AND AM A GHANAIAN & I AM A FORWARD WINGER AND I AM VERY GOOD WITH THE BALL AND AS YOU CAN SEE , I KNOW I CAN MAKE IT UP TO ANY WAY , IN GOD GRACE , BUT I WILL LIKE TO JOIN YOU AND TRIAN FOR A WHILE , FOR SOMETHING BETTER IN FUTURE… SO IF YOU DONT MIND ME ASKING YOU , I AM SERIOUS I WILL BE GLAD TO HAVE YOUR REPLY BACK , THIS IS MY CELL NUMBER TOO AS WELL 00233-546999503 I HOPE YOU CAN TRY AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AND DO HELP , ME AS I AM WAITING FOR YOUR CONTACT ,….

    BY FAMOUS ..

  9. ALI AWUDU Says:

    MY NAME IS ALI AWUDU AND I AM 17 YEARS OF AGE AND AM A GHANAIAN & I AM A FORWARD MID-FEILFDERAND I AM VERY GOOD WITH THE BALL AND AS YOU CAN SEE , I KNOW I CAN MAKE IT UP TO ANY WAY , IN GOD GRACE , BUT I WILL LIKE TO JOIN YOU AND TRIAN FOR A WHILE , FOR SOMETHING BETTER IN FUTURE… SO IF YOU DONT MIND ME ASKING YOU , I AM SERIOUS I WILL BE GLAD TO HAVE YOUR REPLY BACK , THIS IS MY CELL NUMBER TOO AS WELL 0244092042 I HOPE YOU CAN TRY AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AND DO HELP , ME AS I AM WAITING FOR YOUR CONTACT ,….

    BY FAMOUS ..

  10. FRANCIS APPIAH Says:

    MY NAME IS FRANCIS APPIAH AND I AM 19 YEARS OF AGE AND AM A GHANAIAN & I AM A STRIKER AND I AM VERY GOOD WITH THE BALL AND AS YOU CAN SEE , I KNOW I CAN MAKE IT UP TO ANY WAY , IN GOD GRACE , BUT I WILL LIKE TO JOIN YOU AND TRIAN FOR A WHILE , FOR SOMETHING BETTER IN FUTURE… SO IF YOU DONT MIND ME ASKING YOU , I AM SERIOUS I WILL BE GLAD TO HAVE YOUR REPLY BACK , THIS IS MY CELL NUMBER TOO AS WELL +233-548030451 I HOPE YOU CAN TRY AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AND DO HELP , ME AS I AM WAITING FOR YOUR CONTACT ,….

    BY FRANCIS APPIAH …….
    YOUR FAITHFUL

  11. jordan kals Says:

    My name is Jordan i am going 17 i am from London home of the almighty arsenal yes i think your team is good but it would be a greater team if i was there i am 6,4 foot and fast in London I know i will become a footballer the question is what team and i see red bulls are gonna be big in the future and i want to be apart of it am going to tell you am talented i want football but am not going to advertise my self like the other because 99percent are not going to get pick i would like you to see my talent i am at a lower division academy but i want to play the highest level i will score for you in the future or against you. ps good luck for next season

  12. samuel Says:

    hey am a great player,i dont need to speak much of myself,my talent will showcase itself

  13. emmanuel Oletty Says:

    i am emmanuel Oletty age 16 i am from ghana and i am a great defender and i want to become a profession soccer player so plz help achieve my dream

  14. Abiola Abiodun Says:

    my name is ABIODUN OLOTU from Nigeria.my dream from child hood is to become a great footballer and i am 19years old now and i have passion for the football.i will be very glad if you can make my dream to come to pass by be part of your student in RED BLUE ACADEMY In year 2015.

  15. Darko EmmaNUEL Says:

    I a hard working player

  16. isaac Mawuko Says:

    Am Isaac Mawuko, am Ghanaian, I like to join ur best team, please help me to join my contact is+233249686598

  17. Owusu Enock Says:

    My name is Owusu Enock am a footballer I live in Ghana and I want to join your academy.Am free agent.Thanks you for helping me

Leave a comment