PETKE TO RETIRE AT END OF 2010 SEASON

Red Bull New York announced today that standout defender Mike Petke will retire after the 2010 MLS season. Petke, a 13-year veteran and a fan favorite who played for New York for seven seasons over two stints, is the club’s all-time leader in games started and games and minutes played and was part of the team’s All-Time Best XI that was unveiled earlier this year.

“After many months of contemplation, I know that this is the best choice for me and my family,” Petke said. “When I first started playing in MLS, I could have not imagined the type of career I was so fortunate to experience over these past 13 years. I am indebted to my family, current and former teammates and coaches and the fans for their support and encouragement. I am at peace with my decision and blessed that I am able to end my career in a place where I truly call home.”CLICK HERE FOR FULL ARTICLE

Petke talks about his decision: Part 1

Petke’s New York Best XI video:

Watch these videos and more on the NewYorkRedBulls.com official video player.

11 Responses to “PETKE TO RETIRE AT END OF 2010 SEASON”

  1. david Says:

    good luck to petke after 2010 season

  2. el Says:

    Its always sad when a career has to end, but he had a terrific 13 years career. The Mike Petke of the Metrostars was a terrific defender, who gave us many great memories, he wasnt the same player at the end but still had a wonderful moment scoring in the first ever match in Red Bull Arena. Hopefully, he can end up with an MLS Cup title with NY this year. Perhaps, he has a job lined up in the organization.

    God Bless you Mike!!

  3. eltigreferoz Says:

    RBNY legend. I hope the club retains his services in some way. What a great guy: heartful player and team role model. He’ll be very much missed.

  4. Dario Says:

    We will miss you Mike, Thank YOU for everything that you have done.

    Good luck!

  5. Billy Says:

    i wish he could have stayed atleast for the 2011 season :/. ive always loved petke n wish him the best of luck in the future n i hope he could stay with the club in anyway possible, he is the heart n soul of the club, sux to watch him leave at the conclusion of the season :/! mabey he knew the he might get drafted by portland or vancuver or possibly even get cut from NY n wanted to make this decision, i hope we win MLS Cup this year so he could retire with a big blast, he deserves it. . .

  6. ernj Says:

    RBNY needs to send him off in style. A quality guy for metro with one of the best attitudes on the squad.

  7. Larry Red Bull Says:

    MIKE…GREAT CAREER, BUT DONT STOP PLAYING..I HAVE AN OVER 30 CLUB THAT YOU CAN PLY YOUR TRADE IN NORTH JERSEY.

  8. Larry Red Bull Says:

    not much room for 35 year old defenders..hope he has something lined up, which I am sure he will or does. If not, dude, over 30 Sunday 9 AM …GSSL

  9. karbaz Says:

    He’ll be with the Red Bulls Organization for sure, great career Mike, we’ll miss you, you were always one of my favorite players. I wish more players had your attitude and heart. Good luck with everything.

  10. junior khamis Says:

    ok,that is nice idea

  11. JUNIOR KHAMIS Says:

    PLEASE HOW CAN I CONTACT REDBULL ACCADEMY

Leave a Reply

