With their 2-0 win over SK Sturm Graz today, Red Bull Salzburg has won their second consecutive Austrian Bundesliga championship!  This is the first time since 2002 that there has been a repeat Austrian champion.  Heading into the match with a slim, one point, lead over second place FK Austria Wein, Salzburg knew that only three points would leave them in control of their own destiny.  Simon Cziommer (14th minute) and Roman Wallner (16th minute) tallied the goals as Manager Huub Steven’s side put forth a championship effort.  This championship comes on the heels of a masterful run through the Europa League group stages, as Red Bull Salzburg was the only side to earn maximum points during the group stage.  Congratulations to Red Bulls Salzburg, and all of us here at Red Bull New York hope to raise some silverware this season as well!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: