SETH STAMMLER SPEAKS ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE

As most of you have probably heard by now, there was a major earthquake in Haiti Tuesday, leaving devestating destruction.  This hits closer to home with former Red Bulls Jozy Altidore and Jerrod Laventure having Haitian heritage, and with Seth Stammler’s Sporting Chance Foundation involved with education and improving potable water station.  RBR was able to get in touch with Seth tonight as he prepares for a Sporting Chance Foundation fundraiser in his native Columbus, Ohio.

“I was devastated to find out about yesterday’s earthquake in Haiti,” Seth told us. “I have had limited contact with my Haitian colleagues and I know from the ones who I have heard from that they are safe. However, my thoughts and prayers are with the people who I haven’t been able to get in touch with, all of the SCF scholarship recipients and their families and the rest of the Haitian people. Yesterday’s tragedy motivates me even more to expand and raise money for Sporting Chance Foundation in improving the standard of living in Haiti.”

Update: The New York Times’ George Vecsey and Record’s Stefan Bondy wrote about Stammler in today’s papers.

To find out more about Seth Foundation and if you are moved to make a donation, you can do so at SportingChanceFoundation.org.  And if you are in Columbus Thursday night, Seth will be holding a fundraiser at The Claddagh Irish Pub (585 S. Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215) from 7-10 PM local time.  Admission is just a $20.00 donation to Sporting Chance Foundation and gets you a “Hoops for Haiti” wristband, $4.00 pint drink specials, complimentary appetizers, two raffle tickets and access to silent auction items. As a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, all donations to Sporting Chance Foundation are 100% tax-deductible.  Raffle and Silent Auction Items include: NFL, NHL, and MLS Sports Memorabilia.  This event is a third annual event, but in light of the recent events, the timing could make it a very successful event.

One Response to “SETH STAMMLER SPEAKS ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE”

  1. Stephen Swanger Says:

    I am a teacher and a soccer coach who is dedicated to making the world a better place through sport and education and I would like to talk with someone in the RedBull organization about getting involved with your efforts in Haiti.

    I have done similar work as you in Honduras, which by seemingly no justice has taken the brunt of some nasty natural disasters and is unfortunately considered the second poorest country. Not a good combination.

    I would like to introduce a few ideas to help Seth Stammler’s Sporting Chance Foundation. Please review my blog and get back to me if you think that I may be able to help organize.

    I was thinking of going to Haiti this summer to volunteer, and now I feel like I must do something.

Leave a Reply

