RBR IN GHANA: IMPRESSIVE START

RBR is here at the Red Bull Academy in Sogakope, Ghana, located almost an hour and a half east of the capital of Accra. Though we’ll get into some more detail later on our trip, there is one word that comes to mind when describing this facility: Impressive.

Red Bulls Cameroonian midfielder Matthew Mbuta has also tagged along on this trip to speak with the academy’s players and share his story about going from being an aspiring young player growing up in West Africa to working hard and making it professionally. We arrived early this morning after an overnight flight from New York. As we drove on a well-paved highway towards Sogakope, our driver told us that Red Bull’s professional team was just promoted from the Ghanaian First Division to the Premier League and are quickly making a positive impression in the Ghanaian soccer world in a variety of ways. The Red Bull Academy houses the professional team (under-20), a U17 team and a squad called the Muchachos – primarily consisting of U14s. The Academy has approximately 55 individuals among the three teams.

We drove into the bustling town of Sogakope – a popular town with a renowned spa and health club that tourists frequent – after crossing the beautiful Volta Bridge and rattled through bumpy roads next to endless valleys before seeing an oasis of soccer fields in the distance. Along with a grass field, the facility has two well-maintained turf fields – one of which has a grandstand that holds about 500 people (see above).

We’ll have a video tour exclusively on RBR and later today, Matthew will be speaking to all of the players on their lunch recess since Red Bull runs a full-time school on campus. Make sure you keep on checking back for updates from this beautiful facility, as we will show you around the academy and watch a intra-academy scrimmage, look at soccer in Africa and Red Bull soccer’s global vision.

16 Responses to “RBR IN GHANA: IMPRESSIVE START”

  1. Cindy Says:

    that sounds like a really awesome program!

  2. Alle Says:

    This is where the gold is, Africa. If we had to recruit anywhere, it’s there. The talent shows and it’s good to see Red Bull has invested there.

    • lou Says:

      i don’t know about that, if we are talking about the best over all place to recruit if any place is available and the budget allows it, than just about any european country ranks far ahead of any country in africa. If we are talking about getting a bargain and something more realistic, africa is a good maybe even great option but countries like argentina, brazil, even mexico would still be a better choice. The players would be slightly more money in those three countries but they would be less of a long shot to pan out. Anyway this is good news, and it sounds like a really good program.

  3. emilio Says:

    what is the name of the Red Bull team that was promoted to the top flight?

  4. Mike From Linden Says:

    When will the video be up?

  5. James Says:

    My name is James Senedzu from Ghana, i am winger player looking for Club or Academy to help me in my life career, i am ready to play and hlp more in any CLUB who need me to come and try my self.ACTAULLY I HAVE PLAYED U17 here in Ghana and for now am free player free Agent too am just looking for the Great ones to help me out in my life career, thanks.

  6. James Says:

    mi i,d is jamessenedzu50@yahoo and my phone number is +233248549479, thanks,,,,

  7. eugene karim Says:

    i want to join Ghana Red Bulls with a tryout

  8. Manuel Says:

    Hello Red bull is a great job doing here i will like to know more about the Team and register i will to come to join but do not the contact number if you can help with that……my num.0544 225 225 OR 0244 202 521 thank you so much continue the good work god bless you.

  9. emma sarfo Says:

    Dear sir, am a boy of 15 years of age. i want play for your academy team.football is my career,i can play as a winger. i am humble and good.sir please help me because i have much to offer to the the academy.i school at king david academy Accra(Taifa norway) and also am in j.h.s 2. please contact me on this line 0232560763 and 0244501497.i hope my request will be due considered.thank you

  10. ben Says:

    am a young manager who want to gve my player for trials in your academy.he is what i call an exceptional utility player i dont know how u will term him unless you put him to trial.currently he is a free agent who just came from believers fc in the eastern region due to some personal issue.am hoping to hear from you.yours faithfully.my contact o571928841 and 0202103764

  11. Albert Says:

    My name is Albert Sam from Ghana, i am winger player looking for Club or Academy to help me in my life career, i am ready to play and hlp more in any CLUB who need me to come and try my self.ACTAULLY I HAVE PLAYED U17 here in Greater Accra region..And for now am free player free Agent too am just looking for the Great ones to help me out in my life career, thanks.Here is my number ..0573819492..anything please contact me with the name of Almighty God…Thanks..Hope to hear from you soon…

  12. Albert Sam Says:

    I WANT TO SAY HI TO EVERY ONE I LOVE RED BULL SOCCER ACADEMY THEY ARE VERY GOOD TALENTED TEAM THEY HELP TO IMPROVE UPON THEIR SKILLS AND I REALLY WANT TO BECOME A MEMBER OF THEIR TEAM..my name is Albert Sam,and i come from Central Region,Takoradi am now in Tema Staying with my Mom here and I want you to know that I love this team and I love this sport.I play soccer every single day.i am the age of 16 years old.I may not be the best player out there,but i am not the worst.I am just a dedicated Ghanaian who has a dream to become a very Great player in future and wants to make it real in life,but i have not get the opportunity to demonstrate how I play.This is why I want to ask you if you could help me to be come a member of RED BULL SOCCER ACADEMY.I just want the chance from you to help me to improve my self.So please Terry tell the management team of red bull soccer academy and I have the picture of the team and can even become you friend Thank you very much and I hope to hear from you soon. My number..0573819492..

  13. Samuel Addy Says:

    Sir the team obviously for the past years are doing outrageously well. Am a boy of 16 currently staying with my parents in teshie situated in Accra. I have just completed the junior high level nd looking forward to graduate to the next level. Am actually a player whose long awaited dream is to become a professional footballer since infancy and i think this is a good opportunity. Sir, please have me play in your team and it will be my greatest joy if you will take my request into consideration. My number is 0547085954. Thank you

  14. Kelly Wisdom Mawuko Gagodo Says:

    Hello sir my name is Wisdom’ am 19 going to 20yrs and it has been in my wish to be in red bull and i wanted to join last year but i lost my way coming am good in playing but others say that they not see nafin in me sir pls help me so that my dreams can come inn for me if you try me you will see what am saying help me sir pls i want to make my mum happy help me God be with you in name of his son….My number is 0245062822/0574099064 I will like to be in red bull Ghana help me……

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

